Skip to content

Weekend Review no.16- The bums they are a squeakin’

April 7, 2013
Image

And we go marching away from relegation…

Hello and welcome to my review of this weekend’s action. On the dock tonight I’ll cover the Premiership action as well as some rugby. It hasn’t been the busiest of sporting weekends so excuse me if the post is a tad short. 

The title reflects the main theme for today’s post- nervous times at top and tail of the table. As we reach the final 6 games of the year, Aston Villa pulled off a crucial win against Stoke to put the Potters in trouble and give themselves a little breathing room. See previous post for my more detailed thoughts on relegation: https://gibberishsport.wordpress.com/2013/04/03/wednesday-debate-no-15-dropzone-danger-for-dogfighters/

Wigan added a rung to their ladder away from the lower divisions by drawing with QPR, which has surely consigned Harry’s men to demotion. Papiss Cisse rescued my Newcastle from a poor result (see picture) with a last minute winner and coming off the back of a disappointing Europa League result it was just the tonic we needed. Cisse isn’t up to his wizardry of last term but is certainly improving. At the top, Liverpool might have kissed goodbye to any remaining hope of Champions League football next year with a draw to West Brom but Chelski came from behind to beat Sunderland. However I think Paolo di Canio will reinvigorate the Mackem squad, just hopefully not before next week’s derby! 

I’ll do a quick round-up of the rugby for this weekend: MunsterbeatHarlequinswellawayfromhomethenClermontthrashedMontpellierallezlaFrance SaracensgotastrongwinagainstUlsterwiththeobligatorycockyswandivefromAshtonfinallyToulon withalltheirpointsscoredbyWilkinsonbeatLeicesterwithalltheirpointsbyFloodformistemporaryclass ispermanent. *deep mental breath* I did say it would be a quick round up….

Thanks for reading my review on the weekend, I’d appreciate it if you dropped a like or followed if you want to see more! Until the next time! 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

tomtalksfootball

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Writings of a Mrs

I write, blog, vlog and poet...I wander, I ponder and I recollect ...DIGITAL NOMAD & PHILOSOPHER

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog