Skip to content

Weekend Review No.19- Samba lions run amok at SW19.

July 2, 2013

Good Evening everyone and welcome to my review of the weekend. On the dock today are Football, Rugby and Tennis and even a smattering of Cricket where the season is winding up. Sorry that this is actually on Tuesday but was busy something a something. On with the (poorly choreographed) show!

Football had a busy weekend with the world’s most seriously taken competition the Confederations’ Cup. Brazil brought an amazing atmosphere and their attractive samba style football thoroughly dominated the tiki-taka Spanish play in the final. Some are writing obituaries for Spain already but my money would still be on them to pass their way around the opposition next year in the World Cup. Whilst at times the quality of competition in the tournament was so low that the Brazilian public rioted (satire folks) the Cup has definitely piqued my interest for the 2014 World Cup.

In the Rugby the Lions (or should that be lambs?) were edged out by Australia 16-15 in the Second test. To add injury to insult (see what I did there?) Warburton is out of the final deciding test. It seems to have put the Lions’ potential ‘best ever’ crown completely out of the window (glorious foresight once again from me-https://gibberishsport.wordpress.com/2013/06/19/wednesday-debate-no-18-lions-or-lambs/), a disappointing performance for a Lions side just bursting with potential.

The tennis rolls on, although sadly we’ve lost the brave Laura Robson, who powered her way into the last 16 before being defeated perhaps the first time she was actually favourite! Murray keeps British hopes alive as always in his surly British (not Scottish yet) manner. Serena was shockingly knocked out by Lisicki yesterday so Radwanska is my tip for the women’s title whilst the implosion of Federer and Nadal leaves the way clear for Djokovic to take the Men’s.

To cricket, where I’m personally excited by the confirmation from the ICC of a 2017 World Test Championship. A competition that has always seemed to be missing for me. Logistically it will no doubt be tricky but I can’t wait already. The Ashes warm-up continues, and watch this space for a debate over who i think will come out on top this Summer. 

So that’s it! Another weekend dealt with. If you enjoyed it please leave a like and if my style tickles your fancy then following me would be so very greatly appreciated. Until the next time!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

tomtalksfootball

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Writings of a Mrs

I write, blog, vlog and poet...I wander, I ponder and I recollect ...DIGITAL NOMAD & PHILOSOPHER

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog