Skip to content

Weekend review No.11

February 17, 2013

Good evening all and welcome to my review of the weekend. On the dock today are cricket, tennis, football and a small round of golf.

First up cricket and I’m rather happy to say that I was wrong in my prediction and the somewhat fallen nation of New Zealand picked themselves up to beat England in the first ODI, the lightning fast run scorer Brendon McCullum steering the Kiwis to victory. In a fairly predictable final result, Australia beat  West indies convincingly in the final to claim the Women’s Cricket World Cup 2013. It was a pity to see the dark horse West Indies side fall at the final fence as they’d been entertaining up until that point.

In the tennis the Spaniard Rafa Nadal has well and truly returned, winning his second tournament back from injury, the Brazil Open, to begin to get spectators salivating for  what the French Open could hold. A returning Rafa, middling Murray, falling Federer and defending Djokovic all in the same tournament is a fantastically entertaining prospect. Alliteration is fun.

To football, where Manchester City and Chelsea each beat their underling opponents 4-0 in the FA Cup. However, the major talking point is obviously Arsenal’s dreadful loss to Blackburn. Question mark sharks are once more lurking in Wenger’s waters but I still maintain that the board would be mad to sack him if he retains Champions League football. If. Us Magpies got a nice rest weekend which we’ll need ahead of a busy week with must-win matches both on Thursday and at the weekend.

Finally to golf, this is more just a cursory nod to the fact that I mentioned Garcia’s strong performance yesterday and felt I should follow up. As this post goes to (word)press the old favourite had fallen to tied for twelfth place through 12 holes. I reckon I’ll stick with my ‘Sergio for the Masters’ prediction though…

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed yourself. Please remember to like and follow if you did and you would like to see more! I’ll be back on Wednesday for a debate.

From → Weekend Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

tomtalksfootball

A topnotch WordPress.com site

A WordPress Site

Just another WordPress site

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

awayfarday

A great WordPress.com site

Premierleagueacademy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

