Skip to content

Weekend review No.9

February 3, 2013

Coloccini kicking Ba

Hello and welcome to another Weekend Review. On the dock today  is some interesting Rugby from the 6 Nations and some high scoring Football. You never know, I might even step into the realm of American Football with the Superbowl!

First, to the Premiership. I was delighted with an amazing win for us Magpies 3-2 against Chgelsea. I thought the unsung Davide Santon had a really good game, solid defensively and 2 good assists. Obviously he was overshadowed by the mammoth Sissoko and Coloccini’s kick (see above) that ended Ba’s day and somewhat rearranged his face. I’m hoping that the consecutive wins we’ve put together and our new signings could give us the impetus to get into the top half of the table. Aston Villa unfortunately couldn’t hold out for a win against Everton but they gained a crucial point in the relegation battle, whereas QPR appear slightly doomed now at the foot of the table. Manchester Untied sealed another late win against Fulham this time to move 10 points clear at the top and their juggernaut just keeps on rolling.

To the rugby now and I was thoroughly entertained by the Calcutta Cup match which England won 38-18. I think Scotland have every right to feel hard done by after two tries were scored through forward passes but the signs really are encouraging for England. I’ll happily accept I was wrong on Wednesday when I said Ireland would finish behind Wales as their first half performance was fantastic. Wales put up a brave fight late on but never looked like stunning Ireland. Of course, everyone was proven wrong when France were stunned by a brave Italy performance today and the Olympic Stadium in Rome is really becoming difficult to visit. Within 10 years I could even see Italy perhaps sneaking the title.

Meanwhile, in the American and less pure football, Baltimore Ravens are playing San Francisco Ravens tonight in New Orleans for the Superbowl. That is all. (You might be able to tell I’m a tad inexperienced with this sport)

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed it. Please remember to like and follow for more!

From → Weekend Reviews

2 Comments
  1. Magpies seem to be back on track thanks to that french connection…. Your scouting team is to be commended…!!

    As for the Superbowl….DUDE, come on ! at least tell me that you will be watching it in case you need a bit of a nudge….here is my take on it all…. http://wp.me/p2hboa-ei

    • Yeah our scouts are great. I’ve given you a look… Afraid to say I still won’t be watching. Not my thing.

Leave a Reply

tomtalksfootball

A topnotch WordPress.com site

A WordPress Site

Just another WordPress site

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

awayfarday

A great WordPress.com site

Premierleagueacademy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

