Skip to content

Wednesday Debate: SPOTY

November 28, 2012

Going to start a new segment here: Wednesday debates. If is stick with this I’l lcome up with a new topic every week and talk around it for a bit. This week- Sports personality of the year!

I’ll start with Nicola Adams, who apart from winning an olympic medal and being a role model for female black people, has done little of note. Sorry, but not this year.

Jessica Ennis– the nation’s darling, is next. I’m sorry, but I fail to be impressed by her. She does multiple sports, which I suppose is slightly impressive, but I really do not feel she even deserves to be on the list. Sorry Jess!

Ellie Simmonds- A truly amazing athlete who I tip my hat to. However, i think she is a bit too young and I do think she will get further opportunities.

Andy Murray– A great year for the Brit (yes Brit, he’s won so not a Scot of course) but I feel that in an Olympic year, a true Olympian (tennis does not count) should win SPOTY.

Rory McIlroy– Again, a stunning year and I feel that he’d walk it most years but in a similar vein in which I said no to Murray, you couldn’t give it to McIlroy against Olympians.

Sarah Storey– A great cyclist, but I don’t feel she’s quite high profile enough to win and her achievements are dwarved by others in this list.

Katherine Grainger– As a part time rower myself, I’d love to see her win, but over her career she has only won one gold medal and I think it’s too tempting to be sucked up in her story of finally winning at her last attempt.

Chris Hoy– This is where it gets really difficult, as I think any of the next 5 fully deserve to win. Another supreme athlete, but his achievements have been madly shown up by other winners of multiple gold medals.

David Weir– I’ve always admired Weir for pure tenacity and the fact that he won 4 more titles this year puts him firmly in contention but sadly he is highly unlikely to win as his sport just doesn’t receive enough attention.

Mo Farah– Brings the personality to the competition. To win both long distance track events is superb but I think his Somalian heritage and the fact that he trains in America may count against him.

Ben Ainslie– The man I’d personally like to win. Sustained success equalling that of Steve Redgrave’s apart from winning one silver instead of a gold. A true personality too and great patriotism, however, the public’s reluctance to accept sailing as a ‘sport’ will almost certainly block Ainslie’s path.

Bradley Wiggins– The bookies’ favourite and the guy I can’t look past. To be the first British winner of the Tour de France ever is a great achievement and then to follow that up with olympic gold completely seals the deal. He’s also a great anti-doping campaigner and an all round nice guy, making him easily my favourite to be winner.

What do you think? Post in the comments below…

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

tomtalksfootball

A topnotch WordPress.com site

A WordPress Site

Just another WordPress site

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

awayfarday

A great WordPress.com site

Premierleagueacademy

Just another WordPress.com weblog

