Skip to content

Weekend Review No. 12- Thrilling and (a lack of) Spilling

February 25, 2013
Image

Rafael clearly ‘over the moon’ to have scored…

Hello and welcome to my belated review of the weekend. I wanted to wait for the World Golf Championship to end before I passed judgement on the events. On the dock today will be that golf as well as some football and rugby.

Matt Kuchar claimed the crown of World’s Best Match Player in the unofficial fifth major as he beat the defending champion Hunter Mahan in the final. Hunter himself can get a consolation prize as he must win this week’s award for Most American Name. Meanwhile, ‘the trousers’ (Ian Poulter) got a solid fourth place finish to take him back into the top 10. In practice, this event often means little as the event has never produced a winner who went on to win a major in the same year. So that’s alright for me and my hopes of a Sergio to glory in the Masters.

In the football my Newcastle gained a vital win against the team with the longest trip to make in the league- Southampton- and can perhaps begin to look northwards in the table after a good string of results. We’re also through to the next round in Europe thanks to a strong performance in Ukraine. Rafael’s celebration (see above) was fully justified after a truly stunning goal to help nab Manchester United a win over Harry’s QPR. I fear the English Houdini might have some work to do to keep the Rangers up this year. Manchester City kept their slim title ambitions alive with a great performance in beating Chelsea 2-0, albeit that Hart should’ve been sent off before his miraculous penalty save. I’ve been very unconvinced by his performances in big games this year and don’t really rate him myself. Swansea broke the hearts of all football fans when they beat Bradford City in the Carling Cup Final and it was very disappointing to see the utter lack of a spilling of the favourites. I daresay even the Swansea fans wanted to see an upset.

In the 6 nations, England undeservedly beat France 23-13 as Tuilagi’s try should have been ruled out about ten times over. Still, we dug deep to hold on for a win and that’s one of the hallmarks of a great side. Scotland provided a bit of an upset with some stunning defensive work to beat Ireland at Murrayfield and the Scottish do look like a great unit under Scott Johnson. Italy couldn’t quite do the same to Wales, who are gradually gathering momentum for a mouthwatering final clash against England.

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed my take on the weekend. Please leave a comment with your opinion and like and follow if you’d like to see more!

From → Weekend Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

tomtalksfootball

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Writings of a Mrs

I write, blog, vlog and poet...I wander, I ponder and I recollect ...DIGITAL NOMAD & PHILOSOPHER

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog